Dynamite Involvement: Professional Staff Blog

This semester we are excited to bring you student involvement stories from some of our professional staff members in the Division for Student Affairs here at Southern Miss.

Johnell1

Believe it or not, our staff members have been where you are (some more recently than others) and we want to tell you about our experiences. Our first staff blog is from Johnell Goins, Coordinator for the Office of Greek Life.

I got involved right away in college by marching as a majorette in the band for the Sounds of Dynamite.  Through this experience I was able to travel all over the United States…for FREE! This was so much fun.  I can’t begin to describe the rush that would come over me when performing in front of thousands of people every Saturday.  I still look back in amazement at some of the places that I’ve performed, including: Soldier Field in Chicago, the Superdome in New Orleans, the American Airlines Center in Dallas, and more.  Getting involved in the band motivated me to do well in school so that I could come

Johnell 2

Capital City Class 2005 (Alcorn vs. Jackson State)

back and have just that much more fun the next year!

My sophomore year, I joined my beloved Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Nothing compares to becoming involved through a sorority, because not only are you actively impacting your institutional community as a student, but the involvement never stops as a graduate.  My favorite part of being involved in Zeta as an undergraduate was the bonds that I formed with my chapter sisters.  We lived in the same residence hall, ate at the same table and hung out for hours before and after classes.  My sisters modeled how to be a finer woman, which motivated me to carry myself with even more dignity and pride.

A few of my ZETA Chapter Sorors of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

A few of my ZETA Chapter Sorors of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

I’ve gained so many loves through this involvement; and believe it or not, I’m still in contact with 95% of my sisters from my undergraduate chapter.  Getting involved in a sorority also brings about networking opportunities, which will be a huge perk for students after graduation.

I couldn’t stop there.  I joined the English Club, RHA, Alpha Kappa Mu and the Student Senate.  I challenge you to find your place at Southern Miss and have a blast once you do!  Once you become involved with one organization, it’ll be hard to stop giving of yourself.  You’ll find that being involved on campus will make a difference in your journey on your way TO THE TOP!! Good luck.

This entry was posted in Student Involvement, Student Involvement Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

